Bilan U balance assessment which assesses the equilibrium performance

U-Balance

Mobility plays a vital role in longevity and in the prevention of certain age-related illnesses. Good mobility nevertheless requires excellent static and dynamic balance.

 

Balance depends on the integration of three types of sensory information: vestibular inputs, proprioceptive inputs, and visual inputs. These different types of sensory information are processed in the vestibular nuclei, the thalamus and various cortical areas. From the brainstem to the cortex, there is a host of different sensory information at each level of the central nervous system. This serves to promote balance during head and body movements in space.

 

Quantification of a patient’s balance is essential because it makes it possible to better determine their degree of mobility, essential for preserving their quality of life and also for determining their falls risk factor, for which the long term dangerous consequences are well documented.

 

We have developed the U_Balance assessment which assesses the equilibrium performance of patients with or without internal ear dysfunction. There are specific platform Posturography tests which are able to record centre of foot pressure displacements and the body’s centre of gravity during a given time period. A patient’s balance is then recorded in different visual and proprioceptive sensory conditions (see Equitest). However, this assessment does not take into account a patient's cognitive and concentration abilities, their stress levels, mobility, energy, stiffness or balance when walking. The U-Balance assessment tries to take all of these elements into account.

 

It includes 12 parts:

 

  • Dizziness Handicap Inventory questionnaire completed on a tablet PC.

 

  • Assessment of the patient’s body mass index (BMI).

 

  • Quantification of vestibular system function in the three planes of space by Eye Tracking (video head impulse test: SHIMP and HIMP eye movement responses)

 

  • Proprioception evaluation of the lower limbs using a 128 Hz vibrator

 

  • Assessment of muscle strength in the quadriceps using a connected object (accelerometer) placed at the level of the lower back

 

  • Quantification of the patient's stress management abilities and concentration skills by measuring the heart rate with a connected tool

 

  • One-minute assessment of a patient’s balance capabilities while standing on one foot with eyes fixed on a focal point at a distance of 1m50 and arms at the side of the body; determination of postural oscillations using an accelerometer.

 

  • On-the-spot walking test (with eyes open and closed) for 50 steps. An android system allows measurement of the frequency, amplitude and any possible stops.

 

  • The patient must also respond (eyes closed) to short questions, delivered via means of an earpiece, while walking on the spot.

 

  • Assessment of energy levels: the patient must make three jumps on the spot with a sensor placed on the top of the head.

 

  • Standing still on a foam carpet with open and closed eyes.

 

  • Standing still on a foam carpet while low speed 3D moving visual stimuli scrolls in front of the patient using an Oculus Rift (VR: virtual reality).

At the end of this assessment, a score between 0 and 10 is attributed for each part of the test:

 

  • Energy,
  • Muscle strength,
  • Cognition-stress,
  • Balance,
  • Visual sensory dependence,
  • Proprioceptive dependence

 

The patient’s physiological age, based on their static and dynamic equilibrium performance, mobility and energy profile can then established. This physiological age may well correspond to their biological age. However, sometimes they can be different: the patient can have a younger or older physiological age.

 

Our mission is to delay physiological ageing, improve the patient’s performance and help them to function optimally while taking into account their activity, life events and any diseases of the inner ear.

 

Whatever a patient’s stage of life, the U-Balance Report highlights any deficiencies in order to correct them through the use of apps, home-based exercises and specialist balance physiotherapy sessions.

Bilan U balance assessment which assesses the equilibrium performance

U-Balance

La mobilité joue un rôle essentiel dans la longévité et dans la prévention de certaines maladies qui apparaissent avec l’âge. Une bonne mobilité nécessite néanmoins un excellent équilibre statique et dynamique.

 

L’équilibre dépend de l’intégration de trois types d’informations sensorielles : les entrées vestibulaires, les entrées proprioceptives et les entrées visuelles. Ces différentes informations sensorielles sont traitées au niveau des noyaux vestibulaires, du thalamus et de différentes zones corticales. Il existe une redondance des différentes informations sensorielles à chaque niveau du système nerveux central, du tronc cérébral au cortex, afin de favoriser l’équilibre au cours des mouvements de la tête et du corps dans l’espace.

 

La quantification de l’équilibre est essentielle car elle va permettre de mieux déterminer le degré de mobilité du patient, essentiel à sa bonne qualité de vie et aussi à déterminer ses potentiels risques de chutes, dont on connaît les risques fatals à moyen ou long terme.

 

Nous avons développé un bilan U_Balance qui apprécie les performances d’équilibration des patients ayant ou non présenté une dysfonction de l’oreille interne. Il existe ponctuellement des plateformes de Posturographie capable d’enregistrer les déplacements du centre de Pression des pieds et du centre de gravité du corps. L’équilibre est alors enregistré dans différentes conditions sensorielles visuelles et proprioceptives (voir Equitest). Cependant ce bilan ne tient pas compte des capacités cognitives du patient, de ses capacités de concentration, de son stress, de sa mobilité, de son énergie, de sa raideur et de son équilibre durant la marche. Le bilan U-Balance essaie de tenir compte de tous ces éléments ensemble.

 

Il inclut 12 items:

 

  • Questionnaire dizziness Handicap Inventory recueilli sur tablette

  

  • Evaluation de l’Indice de Masse Corporelle (IMC)

  

  • Quantification de la fonction du système vestibulaire dans les trois plans de l’espace par Eye Tracking (videohead impulse test : SHIMP et HIMP)

  

  • Evaluation de la proprioception au niveau des membres inférieurs à l’aide d’un vibrateur de 128 Hz

  

  • Appréciation de la force musculaire dans les quadriceps à l’aide d’un objet connecté (accéléromètre) placé au niveau du bas du dos

  

  • Quantification des capacités de gestion du stress et des capacités de concentration du patient en mesurant son rythme cardiaque à l’aide d’un outil connecté

  

  • Un maintien de son équilibre sur un pied yeux ouverts en fixant une cible devant lui à 1m50 de lui une minute bras le long du corps et la détermination de ses oscillations posturales à l’aide d’un accéléromètre.

  

  • Un test de piétinement sur place yeux ouverts et yeux fermés durant 50 pas. Un système androide permet de calculer la fréquence, l’amplitude et les arrêts éventuels.

  

  • le patient doit également répondre en conditions yeux fermés, à de courtes questions délivrées via un écouteur tandis qu’il effectue un stepping sur place.

  

  • Une appréciation du niveau énergétique : le patient doit faire trois sauts sur place avec un capteur placé sur le haut de la tête

  

  • Le maintien sur tapis mousse en conditions yeux ouverts et yeux fermés

  

  • Le maintien sur tapis mousse tandis qu’une scène visuelle bougeant à en 3D à faible vitesse défile devant lui à l’aide d’un oculusrift (RV : réalité virtuelle)

Au terme de ce bilan, un score entre 0 et 10 est attribué pour differents items :

 

  • Energie,

  • Force musculaire,

  • Cognition-stress,

  • Equilibre

  • Dépendance sensorielle visuelle

  • Dépendance proprioceptive

 

L’âge physiologique en termes de performance d’équilibration statique et dynamique du patient et de son profil mobilité et énergie est ensuite établi. Cet âge physiologique peut correspondre à son âge biologique. Cependant, parfois il peut être différent : le patient peut avoir un âge physiologique plus jeune ou plus élevé.

 

Notre mission est de retarder le vieillissement physiologique, d’améliorer les performances du patient et de l’aider à retrouver des performances optimales compte tenu de son activité, des accidents de la vie et des maladies de son oreille interne.

 

Le Bilan U-Balance pointe les insuffisances afin de les corriger en utilisant une appli, un travail at Home et des séances de rééducation de l’équilibre chez des rééducateurs spécialisés pour tous les âges de la vie.

Bilan U balance